top of page

Trollhunter Character Study


This animation was created for an assignment in my Technical Character Animation class at Carnegie Mellon University. It was produced using Autodesk Maya 2017 and Maya's Arnold Renderer.

This was created as a style walk that explored the movement of the main troll character in my dark ride Trollhunter, Jordfodt. Jordfodt is close to 300 feet tall, and built in a very vaguely human way. He has very pronounced shoulders, and a very small neck. With his massive size, Jordfodt is very clumsy with his steps, caring little about where he is walking but more about what he is trying to do.

I wanted to use this animation to develop how Jordfodt would move as observed by a creature his size. His mountainous scale lends to very powerful, earth-shaking steps. This animation paints him a bit too rigidly, and I am currently working specifically on his arms to make his motions more driven and fluid. His stomping steps convey the power and clumsiness I wanted to highlight in his motion.

I began this animation with two reference videos and several notes, which can be seen below:

This project took about a week to complete.


bottom of page